UMD CMNS Physics S1 Color

Watch live as Christopher Monroe, Distinguished University Professor & Bice Seci-Zorn Professor is elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences 2016.  The ceremony will air on Saturday April 29th at 8:00 p.m. EDT

Membership of the National Academy of Sciences is one the greatest and highest honors that a scientist can receive.  "The NAS membership totals approximately 2,290 members and 490 foreign associates, of whom approximately 200 have received Nobel prizes."  - NAS

Read more about Monroe's accomplishments.