• 1 Cold Atoms Offer a Glimpse of Flat Physics
  • 2 Researchers Measure Casimir Torque for the First Time
  • 3 Four New Gravitational Wave Events Detected from Black Hole Mergers
  • 4 Fast-flowing electrons may mimic astrophysical dynamos
  • 5 Mountaintop Observatory Sees Gamma Rays from Exotic Milky Way Object
  • 6 Modified Superconductor Synapse Reveals Exotic Electron Behavior
  • 7 Pristine Quantum Light Source Created at the Edge of Silicon Chip
  • 8 LHC Scientists Finally Detect Most Favored Higgs Decay
  • 9 JQI Scientists Monroe and Gorshkov are Part of a New, $15 Million NSF Quantum Computing Project
  • Student Spotlight
  • Outreach

sps sigpisig logos

The University of Maryland chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS National Office. This is the fifth time the chapter has been recognized for its excellence as a

Read More

Donna Hammer at the MD STEM Festival 2018 On the MD STEM Festival Podcast, Donna Hammer and Oluchi Ofoha discuss the many outreach programs run by the University of Maryland Department of Physics. Listen here.

Read More

Department News

  • Jan 10, 2019 Christopher Monroe Quoted in Gizmodo Article on IBM's New Quantum Computer Distinguished University Professor & Bice Seci-Zorn Professor Christopher Monroe was quoted in the Gizmodo article, "Why Experts Are Skeptical of IBM's New Commercial Quantum Computer," which explores "Q System One, or as the IBM team described it, “the world’s first fully integrated universal quantum computing system designed Read More
  • Jan 10, 2019 Third Annual Fundamentals of Quantum Materials Winter School The University of Maryland Department of Physics will host the third annual Fundamentals of Quantum Materials Winter School and Workshop January 14th to the 18th at the University of Maryland.  The Fundamentals of Quantum Materials Winter School and Workshop is an annual event unique to North America, dedicated Read More
  • Dec 5, 2018 Sankar Das Sarma and Ian Spielman Named 2018 Highly Cited Researchers Sankar Das Sarma and Ian Spielman join six other faculty members in the University of Maryland’s College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences included on Clarivate Analytics’ 2018 list of Highly Cited Researchers, a compilation of influential names in science. Sankar Das Sarma is a Richard E. Prange Read More
  • Nov 6, 2018 Sundrum Win APS Sakurai Prize The American Physical Society awarded its 2019 J.J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics to Raman Sundrum, a Distinguished University Professor of Physics at the University of Maryland. Sundrum’s collaborator on two key papers, Harvard University Physics Professor Lisa Randall, also received the award.  Sundrum Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Upcoming Events

23 Jan
Plasma Physics Seminar
Wed, Jan 23, 2019 3:30 pm - 4:30 pm
29 Jan
Physics Colloquium
Tue, Jan 29, 2019 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
4 Feb
Biophysics Seminar
Mon, Feb 4, 2019 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
5 Feb
Physics Colloquium
Tue, Feb 5, 2019 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
7 Feb
Applied Dynamics Seminar
Thu, Feb 7, 2019 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm